Topics

Limiting access to Brightspot features


In This Guide

Brightspot allows editors to limit users' access to features in order to create a more streamlined publishing experience. This section explains how to limit access to various features.


Limiting access to sites

The Sites list limits the sites to which a role has access. In the following example, the role has access to the sites Chocolate Chip Counterfeits, Famous Expiration Dates, and Legume Legalities, but not the site named Global.

List of permitted sites for a role

The Sites list is useful for limiting access to the Global site—a site that sets many defaults for other sites. See Setting hierarchy.


Limiting access to the navigation menu

The Areas list limits access to selections from the Navigation menu. In the following example, the role has access to all selections in the Navigation menu except AdminSites & Settings and AdminUsers & Roles.

Limiting access to navigation menu


Limiting access to locking

The UI list specifies if a role can ignore content locking or field-level locking.

Limiting access to locking

The following table describes the locking options.

Option
Description
Content Unlock
Editors in this role can unlock an item-level lock.
Disable Content Unlock
Editors in this role can prevent other editors from unlocking items they opened. For example, if Juan has this permission, then Juan can prevent other editors from unlocking an article he opened. For detailed information about this permission, see the setting Allow Disable Unlocking in Global site settings.
Field Unlock
Editors in this role can unlock a field-level lock.
Impersonate User
Editors in this role can impersonate another editor.
Set Site Tool Theme
Editors in this role can modify Brightspot’s appearance and layout for a site. Need xref to Customizing Brightspot's labels after that topic is migrated.
Set Global Tool Theme
Editors in this role can modify Brightspot’s appearance and layout for all users. Need xref to Customizing Brightspot's labels after that topic is migrated.

Limiting access to content types

The Types list limits access to content types. In the following example, the role can create content from any type except galleries and playlists.

Limit access to content types

You can also restrict the available actions at the content-type level.

Limit access to actions by content type

In the previous illustration—

  • Main Tab Only in the Form field indicates that this role uses the custom content edit form when working with articles. For more information about custom content edit forms, see Customizing content edit forms.
  • The Read Only after Publish toggle indicates this role can modify and republish an article after it is published.
  • The Actions field indicates that this role cannot archive or restore articles. For descriptions of the available actions, see the following table.
  • The Content field indicates that this role has access to all articles except Galaxies Collide, No Injuries Reported. You can configure two types of lists in this field:

    • Basic—A list of individual articles the role can or cannot access. (For details about basic lists, see Creating a basic list.)
    • Dynamic—Click , and in the Edit Dynamic Query widget create a dynamic list of articles that the role can or cannot access. (For details about dynamic lists, see Create a dynamic list.) Dynamic lists are useful in situations such as the following:

      • Limiting a role to updating articles in a particular section, such as sports or recipes.
      • Limiting a role to updating articles that were published in the last six months.
      • Limiting a role to updating articles that are in draft status.

The following table describes the actions available for a selected content type.

Action
Description
Archive
Editors in the role can archive items. For details about archiving, see Archive content.
Bulk Archive
Editors in the role can bulk archive items. For details about bulk archiving, see Bulk archive content.
Delete
Editors in the role can delete items. For details about deleting items, see Permanently delete content.
Publish
Editors in the role can publish items.
Restore
Editors in the role can restore items. For details about restoring items, see Restore previously archived content.
Unschedule
Editors in the role can unschedule items. For details about unscheduling, see Unscheduling an item.
Write
Editors can update items.

Limiting access to developer-level features

The Developer list limits access to developer-level features. These features provide advanced content editing or content management, and require a certain level of technical knowledge to use them correctly. However, using these features incorrectly can cause Brightspot to operate differently from expected.

In the following example, the role has access to all developer-level features except the HTML toggle in the rich-text editor.

Limiting access to developer-level features