Topics

Profile


In This Guide

Your Brightspot profile determines the login credentials, available features, dashboard appearance, and other settings that keep you productive.


Configuring your profile

To configure your profile:

  1. In the header, click your username > Profile. The Profile widget appears.
  2. Using the tables in Profile settings as a reference, configure your profile.
  3. Click Save.

Profile settings

The following tables describe the available profile settings.

Profile settings—Main tab

FieldDescription
Name
Name associated with items you create. This name appears in various widgets in Brightspot, such as the Recent Activity widget.
EmailYour email address.
UsernameUsername you use to log in to Brightspot.
PasswordPassword for logging in to Brightspot.
Avatar
Your avatar.
None—No avatar.
New Upload—Displays a field for uploading an avatar.
New URL—Displays a field for entering an avatar’s URL.
LocaleYour language and location. The locale has two effects:
  • Brightspot’s appearance changes to the selected language. For example, if you select Spanish, Brightspot appears in Spanish. If the selected language is not available, Brightspot appears in English.
  • Brightspot uses associated dictionaries to spell-check your text.
Time ZoneYour time zone.
Phone NumberYour phone number for receiving text messages from Brightspot. For information about how Brightspot sends and receives text messages, see Notifications.
Notifications
Delivery MethodsAvailable default delivery methods. For more information, see Delivery methods
SubscriptionsAvailable default subscriptions. For more information, see Subscriptions to topics.
Automatic SubscriptionsAutomatic subscriptions are configured by your administrator. You can specify your default delivery methods for all of them, as well as override or disable on an individual basis.

Profile settings—CMS Tab

Field
Description
Dashboard
Dashboard

Settings for your dashboard.

None—You use the dashboard associated with your role.
One Off—A one-off dashboard you create for your own use. For details, see One-off dashboard.
Shared—A shared dashboard. For details, see Shared dashboard.

Edit Existing ContentList of existing items appearing in your Quick Start widget.
Content Templates
Global DefaultsList of available default templates. If blank, the default templates flow from your role’s default templates (if any). See Setting content templates at the user level.
Global ExtrasList of available extra templates. If blank, the extra templates flow from your role’s extra templates (if any). See Setting content templates at the user level.
Site Specific DefaultsOverrides the default templates for individual sites. If blank, the site-specific default templates flow from your role’s site-specific default templates (if any). See Setting content templates at the user level.
Site Specific ExtrasOverrides the extra templates for individual sites. If blank, the site-specific extra templates flow from your role’s site-specific extra templates (if any). See Setting content templates at the user level.
Advanced
Inline Editing

Items you can edit using the inline editor.

Inherited—Inline editing settings flow from the settings at the global site. For information about configuring settings at the global site, see Global site settings.
Disabled—Inline editor is not available.
Only Main Content—You can edit the item but not its subsidiary items.
All Contents—You can edit the item and the subsidiary items. For example, if an article contains an author item, you can modify both the article and the author.

Return to Dashboard on Save
If marked, you automatically return to the dashboard after saving changes to an item.
Return to Dashboard on WorkflowIf marked, you automatically return to the dashboard after adding an item to a workflow.
Disable Navigate Away AlertIf marked, you do not receive a message when leaving the content edit page without saving or publishing. The following illustration is an example of a navigate-away alert.
Profile Disable Navigate Away Alert.png
Disable Work In ProgressDisables the work-in-progress feature. When toggled on, this feature maintains live backups of work if your Brightspot session unexpectedly ends. For more information, see Work in progress.
Global Theme OverrideDisplays previews using the selected theme.
Site Theme OverridesDisplays previews using the selected theme for the selected site.

Profile settings—Assignment Desk tab

Field
Description
Team member RoleAssignment Desk role to which you belong. For information about Assignment Desk’s team roles and members, see Team roles and members.
Contact InformationContact points to which Brightspot sends Assignment Desk notifications.
NotesStatus message.