Topics

Archiving and deleting


In This Guide

Archiving content

You can archive published items. After archiving, visitors cannot view the items.

To archive content:

  1. Search for and open the item in the content edit page.
  2. If the References widget lists items that refer to this item, replace or remove those references. For example, if you are archiving an image, and the image appears as a lead in an article, then replace or remove the image in the referring article.
  3. In the Editorial Toolbar, click more_horiz, and select Archive.
    1. In the confirmation prompt, click OK.
    archive-option-dropdown.png

    Brightspot archives the item, and displays an indication in the content edit form. Visitors cannot view the item, but Brightspot retains the item in the database.

    Archived article example.png


    Restoring previously archived content

    To restore archived content:

    1. Search for and open the archived item in the content edit page.
    2. In the Editorial Toolbar, click more_horiz, click Restore, then select one of the following:
      1. Restore to Draft—Restores the archived item to draft state. You can revise the item and later publish it.
      2. Restore to Live—Restores the archived item to a live state, and visitors can view it.
    Tip
    In the search panel, you can filter for content with status Archived. For details, see Filtering search results.


    Permanently deleting content

    Warning
    The following procedure permanently deletes an item from Brightspot, and you cannot restore it.

    To permanently delete content:

    1. Search for and open the archived item in the content edit page.
    2. In the Editorial Toolbar, click settings, and select Delete Permanently.
    3. In the confirmation prompt, click OK.

    Brightspot deletes the item from the database.