Topics

Users


In This Guide

User accounts

Every editor and administrator has a user account for logging in to Brightspot.


Creating a user

To create a user:

  1. Click menu > Admin > Users & Roles.
  2. In the Users widget, click New Tool User. The New Tool User widget appears. 
  3. Under Main, and using the following table as a reference, make selections for the new user.
  4. Click Save.

The following tables describe the available user settings.
Profile settings—Main tab

FieldDescription
RoleUser’s roles.
  • If blank, user has no role and therefore has all permissions.
  • Users with multiple roles have access to all the roles’ dashboards and cumulative permissions (see the illustration in Dashboard hierarchy).

For an explanation of roles, see Creating a role.

NameName associated with content created or edited by the user. This name appears in various widgets in Brightspot.
EmailUser’s email address. If blank, Brightspot applies the user’s username.
UsernameName with which user logs in to Brightspot.
Password

User’s password.

  • Change—Displays fields for adding or changing a user’s password.
  • Keep Same—Retains current password. If you are creating a new user and select this option, the user will not be able to log in.
Avatar

User’s avatar.

  • None—No avatar associated with the user.
  • New Upload—Displays a field for uploading an avatar.
  • New URL—Displays a field for entering an avatar’s URL.
LocaleUser’s language and location. Brightspot’s appearance changes to the selected language. For example, if you select Spanish, Brightspot appears in Spanish. If the selected language is not available, Brightspot appears in English.
Time ZoneUser’s time zone.
Phone NumberUser’s phone number for receiving text messages from Brightspot. For information about sending text messages, see Notifications.
Notifications
Delivery MethodsAvailable default delivery methods. For more information, see Delivery methods.
SubscriptionsAvailable default subscriptions. For more information, see Subscriptions.
Automatic SubscriptionsAutomatic subscriptions configured by the Brightspot administrator. Users can specify delivery methods for all such subscriptions as well as opt out of them. For more information, see Reviewing, overriding, and opting out of shared and automatic subscriptions.

Profile settings—CMS Tab

FieldDescription
Dashboard

Settings for user’s dashboard.

  • None—User’s dashboard inherits from the role, site, or global levels. For more information about dashboard inheritance, see Dashboard hierarchy.
  • One Off—User’s dashboard is a one-off dashboard. For more information, see One-off dashboard.
  • Shared—User’s dashboard is a shared dashboards. For details, see Shared dashboard.
Edit Existing ContentList of existing content items appearing in this user’s Quick Start widget. To add content, click add_circle_outline and use the search panel to retrieve the desired items.
Content Templates
Global DefaultsList of default templates available to the user. If blank, user inherits the role’s default templates (if any). For more information, see Setting a user-level content template.
Global ExtrasList of extra templates available to the user. If blank, user inherits the role’s extra templates (if any). For more information, see Setting a user-level content template.
Site Specific DefaultsOverrides default templates for individual sites. If blank, user inherits the role’s site-specific default templates (if any). For more information, see Setting a user-level content template.
Site Specific ExtrasOverrides extra templates for individual sites. If blank, user inherits the role’s extra templates (if any). For more information, see Setting a user-level content template.
Advanced
Inline Editing

Items user can edit using the inline editor.

  • Inherited—Inline editing settings flow from the settings at the global site. For information about making settings at the global site, see Global site settings.
  • Disabled—Inline editor is not available.
  • Only Main Content—User can edit the item but not its subsidiary items.
  • All Contents—User can edit the item and subsidiary items. For example, if an article contains an author item, the user can modify both the article and the author.
Return to Dashboard on SaveIf marked, user automatically returns to dashboard after saving changes to content.
Return to Dashboard on WorkflowIf marked, user automatically returns to dashboard after adding content to a workflow.
Disable Navigate Away AlertIf marked, user does not receive a message when leaving the content edit page without saving or publishing. The following illustration is an example of a navigate-away alert.
Profile Disable Navigate Away Alert.png
Disable Work In ProgressDisables the work-in-progress feature. When enabled, this feature maintains live backups of work if a Brightspot session unexpectedly ends. For more information, see Work in progress.
Global Theme OverrideTheme serving as the user’s top-level global theme. All theme settings flow down from this theme unless overridden at a lower level. Regardless, when publishing content, Brightspot uses the site theme’s settings. For more information, see Configuring a user's theme overrides.
Site Theme OverridesOverrides the theme applied to a site. This setting impacts what the user sees when previewing content; when publishing content, Brightspot uses the site’s theme. For information about associating a theme with a site, see Creating a site

Profile settings—Assignment Desk tab

Field
Description
Team member Role
Assignment Desk role to which user belongs. For information about Assignment Desk’s team roles and members, see Team roles and members.
Contact Information
Contact points to which Brightspot sends Assignment Desk notifications.
Notes
Status message.
Tip
Administrators can provide explanatory notes for fields in the New Tool User and Edit Tool User widgets.


Editing a user

To edit a user:

  1. Click menu > Admin > Users & Roles
  2. In the Users widget, click in the Search field, and start typing the user’s name. Brightspot lists matching users.
  3. Click the user you want to edit.
  4. In the MainDashboard, and Advanced tabs, update the user’s settings as required.
  5. Click Save.

Impersonating a user

You can use Brightspot as a different user. This technique is useful for administrators who need to verify that they configured a role’s or user’s permissions correctly. For example, Alex is a Brightspot administrator with access to all features. He configured a role Proofreader with access only to the Workstreams and Scheduled Events widgets on the dashboard. Alex can impersonate a user in the Proofreader role to verify the dashboard is configured correctly.

Typical administrator's dashboard
Typical administrator's dashboard
Impersonated user's dashboard
Impersonated user's dashboard

To impersonate a user:

  1. Click menu > Admin > Users & Roles
  2. Select the user you want to impersonate.
  3. Click settings, and from the menu select Impersonate This Tool User.

You return to the dashboard as seen by the impersonated user. A message appears above the header indicating the user you are impersonating. Furthermore, in widgets that show an editor’s name, such as Revisions, the impersonated user’s name appears.