Topics

Permissions


In This Guide

This topic explains concepts related to permissions in Brightspot.


Permission control types

A control is an item in Brightspot that you click or select, such as a widget, tab, checkbox, or list. You restrict access to a control by setting a permission on it. Permissions are set at the role level, which apply to all users assigned to that role. Typically, not all users have access to all controls. For example, users in an editor role usually do not have access to the administrative-level controls for adding new users.

The following table lists the types of controls on which you can set permissions.

  • Sites—Limits the sites to which a role has access.
  • Areas—Limits access to selections from the Admin menu.
  • UI—Limits capability to ignore content locking and field-level locking.
  • Types—Limits access to tab and widget controls on the content edit page by content type.
  • Developer—Limits access to developer-level features.

A role’s permissions apply to all sites to which the role has access. For example, if the Editor role is limited to working on articles and images, then those limitations apply to all sites to which editors have access. You can override this default by setting site-specific permissions for a role.


Permission scopes

Most permission settings have one of the following scopes:

  • All—The role has access to all controls within that feature. For example, if you select All in the Sites field, the role’s users have access to all sites.
  • All Except—The role has access to all controls except the ones you select. For example, if you select All Except in the Sites field, and then select the site Pancake Syrups, the role’s users have access to all sites except Pancake Syrups.
  • Only—The role has access to only those controls you select. For example, if you select Only in the Sites field, and then select the site Pancake Syrups, the role’s users have access to only the site Pancake Syrups.
  • None—The role has no access to the controls within that feature. For example, if you select None in the Sites field, the role’s users have access to no sites.
  • Inherited—Applies to site-specific permissions only. Inherits the global settings for the control (no override.) See Site-specific permissions.