Topics

Workflows


In This Guide

Creating a custom workflow

You can create different workflows for different content types. For example, the workflow for an article can include first draft, final draft, and publication. The workflow for an image can include initial upload, cropping, and adding metadata.

To create a workflow:

  1. Click menu > Admin > Workflows. A New Workflow widget appears.
  2. In the Name field, type a name for the workflow.
  3. In the Sites field, add sites to which the workflow applies (or leave blank to apply the workflow to all sites). For information about creating sites, see Creating a site.
  4. In the Content Types field, select the content types to which this workflow applies.
  5. In the Actions field, do the following:

    1. Click Add Status. A new status box appears.
    2. Type the name of the status.
    3. If this is the first status that you created, click Add Transition in the status box New. Otherwise, click Add Transition in the previous status box that you created.
    4. Drag your mouse over the status box you created in step a. A transition box appears between the two status boxes.
    5. In the transition box, type a name for the transition.
      Tip
      Transitions in the workflow widget appear in alphanumeric order, which may be different from the intuitive workflow order. To ensure the transitions appear in an intuitive workflow order, start a transition’s name with a numeral.
    6. Repeat steps a–e to add additional statuses and transitions.
  6. Click Save.

The following illustration is an example of a simple workflow for an article.

Simple workflow
Simple workflow

After you save a workflow—

  • Brightspot lists the workflow in the Workflows list.
  • Each time you create a new item for the workflow’s content type, the Editorial Toolbar displays the workflow status and a Workflow button. When the button is clicked, the Workflow widget appears.
  • Brightspot saves a draft for each status in the workflow. You can retrieve those drafts from the Revisions widget.
  • The item’s current status appears in the Recent Activity and Unpublished Drafts widgets (see Standard dashboard and widgets).
  • Items created before a workflow was created automatically enter the workflow—unless they are published. For example, if you saved a draft of an article, and your administrator later created a workflow, your article can be submitted to the workflow.

For a details of an item’s statuses as it transitions through a workflow, see Progression of an item through states.


Modifying a workflow

To modify a workflow:

  1. Click menu > Admin > Workflows. The Workflow widget appears with a list of existing workflows.
  2. Click the workflow you want to modify. Brightspot displays the workflow in the Edit Workflow widget.
  3. Modify the workflow.

Transitioning an item through a workflow

To transition an item through a workflow:

  1. Search for and open the item on the content edit page.
  2. Perform the required edit for the item’s status. For example, if the item’s status is Editing, perform an editorial review to approve or reject the article.
  3. In the Editorial Toolbar, click Workflow. A widget appears.

    Workflow transition

  4. In the Workflow widget, do the following:
    1. Enter an optional comment for the users or roles performing the next step in the workflow.
    2. Click the applicable transition.

Brightspot retains a draft of an item in each status. For example, referring to the illustration in Create a custom workflow, Brightspot saves a copy of the article in the Editing, Final approval, Rejected, and Published statuses. You can retrieve the draft of an item in each of its statuses; for details, see Revisions widget.


Introducing published content into a workflow

When you create a workflow for a particular content type, published items of that type are exempt from the workflow. However, you may want published items to go through a workflow, such as if you added a quality control step for spelling or graphic attributions.

To introduce published content into a workflow:

  1. Search for the published item and open it in the content edit form.
  2. Do one of the following:

    In either case, the item enters the workflow associated with its type.


Limiting a user's access to workflow transitions

To limit users’ access to workflow transitions:

You can limit users’ access to certain workflow transitions. For example, you may want one group of users to do only content editing, and another group of users to do only proofreading. This level of access control is available only for roles, not for individual users.

  1. Click menu > Admin > Users & Roles
  2. In the Roles widget, select the role whose available transitions you want to limit. The Edit Tool Role widget appears.
  3. Under Permission Settings, under Types, select All Except. A form appears.
    Workflow edit tool role
  4. Under Restricted Types, click  and select Content Type. A form appears.
    Workflow restricted types
    Restrictions on content type-transitions for a role
  5. From the Type list, select a content type.
  6. From the Actions list, select All Except. A form appears.
  7. From the Type Actions list, select the transitions that you want to exclude from the role.
  8. Repeat steps 4–7 to add additional restrictions for content type-workflow transition combinations.
  9. Click Save.

Referring to the illustration in Create a custom workflow and the above illustration in step 4:

  • When the role is working on an article, and
  • When the article is in status Pending Review, then
  • The role can only reject the article, not approve it.
  • All other roles can both approve and reject the article.


Workflow reject
Workflow options for role with limited permissions
Workflow reject accept
Workflow options for role with unlimited permissions

Using the bulk workflow function

After a workflow is created, you can begin to migrate assets through it. You can migrate them individually, as previously discussed, or you can migrate multiple assets at once using the bulk workflow function.

To migrate multiple assets at once using the Bulk Workflow function:

  1. Using the main search field, search for the assets you want to migrate in bulk through a workflow.
  2. Select the assets you want to migrate through the workflow by clicking the checkbox next to their names.
    Bulk Workflow 1.png
  3. Click more_horiz and click ​Bulk Workflow Selected​.
    Bulk Workflow 2.png
  4. From the Workflow Options page, select the next step in the workflow to which you want these assets to be migrated.
    Bulk Workflow 3.png
  5. From the Confirm Bulk Workflow page, click ​Confirm Bulk Send [name of workflow step]​.
    Bulk Workflow 4.png
  6. You are taken back to the Workflow Options page where you can continue to migrate these assets through the workflow, or you can exit out of the workflow and continue with other work in Brightspot.