Brightspot CMS User Guide

Progression of an asset through states


As an asset moves through the publication process, Brightspot assigns it different states, such as draft, live, and archived. This section explains in detail how an asset moves from one state to another.

The following table summarizes the actions that move an asset into various states.

Performing this action… Moves an asset to this state…
Creating a new asset New
Clicking save (for a new asset or draft) Draft
Clicking save (for a revision) Revision
Clicking a workflow transition Corresponding workflow status
Clicking Publish Live
Selecting more_horiz> Archive Archived
Selecting Restore > Restore To Draft Draft
Selecting Restore > Restore To Live Live
Selecting more_horiz> Delete Permanently (for an archived asset) Deleted
Clicking date_range and selecting a date (for a draft) Scheduled draft
Clicking date_range and selecting a date (for a revision) Scheduled revision
Selecting more_horiz> Unschedule (for a scheduled draft) Draft
Selecting more_horiz> Start New Revision Revision

Both the states and associated available actions appear in the Editorial toolbar (and in other places throughout Brightspot).


New

When you create a new asset, such as when you click add > Article in the header, the asset is in the new state.


Draft

When you click  save , Brightspot transitions a new asset to the draft status. You can also restore an archived asset to the draft state.

When an asset is in the draft state, clicking  save  creates a new draft, so you have a history of your drafts from one save to the next. You can review an asset's drafts in the Revisions widget. If you are not satisfied with some of your later drafts, you can open an earlier one from the Revisions widget and resume work from that point.

For more information, see Creating additional drafts and Restoring an archived asset.


Live

When you click Publish, the asset becomes live. You can also restore an archived asset to the live state. This is the version that your visitors see.


Revision

When you select more_horiz > Start New Revision, the asset becomes a revision. Visitors continue to see the live version while you work on the revision.

Start revision
Starting a new revision

You can review an asset's revisions in the Revisions widget. If you're not satisfied with some of your later revisions, you can open an earlier one from the Revisions widget and resume work from that point.

Previous revisions
Previous revisions


For more information, see Revisions.


Workflow status

When you click Workflow and select a status, the asset transitions to that status. Both drafts and revisions can traverse a workflow. Depending on your user permissions, you may be able to interrupt a workflow and publish the asset immediately.

For more information, see Workflows.


Scheduled Draft

When an asset is in the draft state, clicking date_range and selecting a date places the asset in a scheduled draft state. At the selected date and time, the asset automatically transitions to live. Visitors see the previous version before that date, and see the new version on and after that date and time.

For more information, see Scheduling.


Scheduled Revision

When an asset is in the revision state, clicking date_range and selecting a date places the asset in a scheduled revision state. At the selected date and time, the asset automatically transitions to live. Visitors see the previous version before that date and time, and see the new version on and after that date and time.

For more information, see Scheduling.


Archived

Selecting more_horiz > Archive places a live asset into the archived state. Visitors can no longer view the asset. You can restore an archived asset to the live state or to the draft state.

Archiving an asset
Archiving an asset

For more information, see Archiving assets.


Deleted Permanently

Selecting more_horiz > Delete Permanently completely deletes an archived asset. You cannot restore a deleted asset.

Permanently deleting an asset
Permanently deleting an asset

For more information, see Permanently deleting an asset.

Previous Topic
Toggling full-screen editing
Next Topic
Favoriting content types
Was this topic helpful?
Thanks for your feedback.
The elements that get you up and running in a matter of days, from pre-built content types, to modules, to landing pages.

Content types
Modules
Landing pages
Everything you need to manage and administer content within Brightspot CMS, including plug-and-play integrations.

Dashboards
Authoring content
Workflows
Admin configurations
A guide for installing, supporting and administering code on the Brightspot platform, including integrations requiring developer support to use.

Field types
Content modeling
Rich-text elements
Images