Topics

Revisions


In This Guide

In Brightspot, when an asset is created, it begins as a draft. Once a draft is published, all subsequent updates to the asset are revisions. This guide explains how to work with revisions to ensure the only the best version of content is live.


Creating a revision

You can create a revision of an asset you already published.

To create a revision:

  1. Search for an open the asset for which you want to create a new revision.
  2. In the Revisions widget, click Start New Revision. The New Revision widget appears.
    Create revision
  3. Type a name for the revision and click Create. Brightspot does the following:
    • Adds the new revision to the Revisions widget.
    • Lists the new revision in the Recent Revisions banner when editing previously live revisions.
  4. In the content edit form, modify the revision. As you save the revision, you can compare it with the currently live version by clicking Compare to Live.
  5. Complete your site's workflow and publish the asset.

The following example shows that a revision is in progress.

New Revision.png

The following example shows the list of recent revisions that are not yet published.

Recent Revisions (1).png

Recent revisions appear in the banner if they were updated within the last 24 hours. You can configure the window for recent revisions; for details, see Settings for the Global site.


Naming a revision

Every time you save a draft or revision, Brightspot labels it with a time stamp and a username. You can replace the label with a descriptive name.

To name a revision:

  1. Search for and open the asset in the content edit page.
  2. In the Revisions widget, click more_horiz > Name Revision for the revision you want to name. The Name Revision widget appears.
    name-revision.png
  3. In the Name field, type a name for the revision.
  4. Click Save.

The new name appears in the Revisions widget.


Deleting a revision or a draft

You can delete drafts and revisions as follows:

  • Deleting drafts—When you start a new asset, every time you click save, Brightspot creates a new draft. You can delete any draft.
  • Deleting revisions—When you start a new revision, and every time you click save while working on the revision, Brightspot saves a draft of the revision. You can delete any draft of a revision.

The drafts and revisions you can delete appear with a yellow circle in the Revisions widget.

Deletable drafts and revisions

    Drafts and revisions you cannot delete include the following:

    • A draft that entered a workflow.
    • A draft that was published.
    • A revision that entered a workflow.
    • A revision that was published.

    To delete a draft or revision:

    1. Search for and open the asset in the content edit page.
    2. In the Revisions widget, select a draft or revision you want to delete.
    3. Click more_horiz > Delete Permanently or Delete Revision.
    4. In the confirmation prompt, click OK.

    Updating in-progress revisions

    You can update a revision prior to its publication. If you want to issue a new revision to one that is already published, see Creating a revision.

    To update an in-progress revision:

    1. Search for and open the asset in the content edit page.
    2. In the Revisions widget, click the revision you want to update. Brightspot loads the revision in the content edit form.
    3. In the content edit form, modify the revision. As you save the revision, you can compare it with the currently live version by clicking Compare to Live.
    4. Complete your site's workflow and publish the asset.

    Comparing a revision to live version

    You can compare a revision to the currently live revision.

    To compare a revision with the live version:

    1. Search for and open the asset in the content edit page.
    2. In the Revisions widget, select the revision against which you want to compare the live revision. Brightspot loads the revision in the content edit form.
    3. Under the editorial toolbar, click Compare to Live.

    Brightspot displays the differences between it and the currently live revision.

    Compare to live


    Merging revisions into a workflow

    If you have an asset that is in a workflow, you can update the asset without restarting the workflow. The following scenario provides an example.

    Workflow with new revision

    1. Adam creates a draft, and sends it to the first status in the workflow Fact Checking.
    2. Olivia takes the draft from Fact Checking, makes a few edits, and advances the draft to Proofreading.
    3. The next day, Adam realizes that he needs to update the draft, so he creates a new revision from it. That revision starts from where Olivia ended.
    4. Adam finishes his new revision, and has two choices:
      • Restart the workflow by advancing the revision to Fact Checking.
      • Continue the workflow by keeping the revision in Proofreading.

    To merge a revision into a workflow:

    1. Search for and open the asset in the content edit page.
    2. In the Revisions widget, click Start New Revision. The New Revision widget appears.
      new-revision.png
      1. Type a name for the revision and click Create. Brightspot adds the new revision in the Revisions widget. The new revision is a copy of the latest draft in the workflow.
      2. Modify and save the revision by clicking save. You can compare the new revision with the currently live version (if any) by clicking Compare to Live.
      3. Click Workflow, and in the Workflow widget, click one of the following:
        • Merge with Draft—Brightspot moves the revision to the latest point in the workflow when the revision started.
        • Send to (first workflow status)—Brightspot moves the revision to the first point in the workflow.
          Workflow widget with revision

        Revisions widget

        After you save the first draft of an asset, Brightspot displays the Revisions widget in the content edit page. This widget lists all drafts, the currently live version, revisions that are not yet published, previously published revisions, and revisions in a workflow. For each version, the Revisions widget lists the time it was saved and the user who saved it. The following illustration provides some examples of entries in the Revisions widget.

        Revisions Widget: Revisions