Topics

Blocking, archiving, and deleting users


In This Guide

The following table summarizes the impact of blocking, archiving, and deleting a user’s account.

Account Status
User can log in
User’s content visible on Internet
User’s content in Brightspot database
Blocked
No
Yes
Yes
Archived
No
No
Yes
Deleted
No
No
No

The following sections describe how to apply one of the above statuses to a user account.


Blocking a user account

You may need to block an account, such as when a user does not comply with your site’s terms and conditions. After blocking an account, the user cannot log in. However, content that the user contributed, such as public profile and reader comments, is still visible.

To block a user’s account:

  1. Search for and open the user’s account in the content edit form.

    • In the search panel, filter by the content type User.
    • In the Authentication widget, from the Status list select Blocked.
    Blocking a user account.png
    Blocking a user's account

  2. Click Save.

Archiving a user account

To archive a user’s account:

  1. Search for and open the user’s account in the content edit form.

    • In the search panel, filter by the content type User.
  2. In the editorial toolbar, click more_horiz, and then click Archive. A confirmation message appears.
  3. Click OK.

Brightspot archives the user’s account. The user account and content that the user contributed, such as profile and reader comments, remain in Brightspot but are not visible to visitors.


Deleting a user account

Deleting a user account complies with GPDR’s “right to be forgotten.”

To delete a user’s account:

  1. Search for and open the user’s account in the content edit form.

    • In the search panel, filter by the content type User.
  2. In the editorial toolbar, click settings, and then click Archive. A confirmation message appears.
  3. Click OK.
  4. In the editorial toolbar, click settings, and then click Delete Permanently.
  5. In the confirmation prompt, click OK.

Brightspot deletes the user’s account as well as any content that the user contributed.

See also: