Brightspot CMS User Guide

Limiting a user's access to workflow transitions


This topic explains how to limit access to transitions in a workflow.

To limit users’ access to workflow transitions:

You can limit users’ access to certain workflow transitions. For example, you may want one group of users to do only content editing, and another group of users to do only proofreading. This level of access control is available only for roles, not for individual users.

  1. Click menu > Admin > Users & Roles
  2. In the Roles widget, select the role whose available transitions you want to limit. The Edit Tool Role widget appears.
  3. Under Permission Settings, under Types, select All Except. A form appears.

    Workflow edit tool role

  4. Under Restricted Types, click  and select Content Type. A form appears.

    Workflow restricted types
    Restrictions on content type-transitions for a role

  5. From the Type list, select a content type.
  6. From the Actions list, select All Except. A form appears.
  7. From the Type Actions list, select the transitions that you want to exclude from the role.
  8. Repeat steps 4–7 to add additional restrictions for content type-workflow transition combinations.
  9. Click Save.

Referring to the illustration in Create a custom workflow and the above illustration in step 4:

  • When the role is working on an article, and
  • When the article is in status Pending Review, then
  • The role can only reject the article, not approve it.
  • All other roles can both approve and reject the article.

Workflow reject
Workflow options for role with limited permissions

Workflow reject accept
Workflow options for role with unlimited permissions
Previous Topic
Introducing published content into a workflow
Next Topic
Using the bulk workflow function
Was this topic helpful?
Thanks for your feedback.